WikiDeletePage
Deleting a Wiki Page¶
Wiki pages can be completely deleted using the //Delete page// or the //Delete this version// button at the bottom of the wiki page. These buttons are only visible for users that have the \WIKI_DELETE\ permission.
** Deleting a wiki page is an irreversible operation.
Deleting specific versions or even complete pages can make sense to remove spam or other abusive submissions.
However, if you want to delete a page because you re-created a new page with the same content but a different name, it is recommended to keep the page and use it as a redirection page instead of completely deleting it. This will avoid frustrating the visitor with broken links, particularly when coming to the site from a search engine.
In this situation, chances are that you actually wanted to [WikiNewPage#renaming|rename] the page instead of doing a copy and delete. The //Rename// operation offers you the possibility to create a redirection page. A redirection page is a short page that contains a link such as “See SomeOtherPage”.
See also: TracWiki, TracPermissions
