--- layout: wiki title: WikiDeletePage updated: 2021-04-16 08:25 author: trac default: false --- ## Deleting a Wiki Page Wiki pages can be completely deleted using the //Delete page// or the //Delete this version// button at the bottom of the wiki page. These buttons are only visible for users that have the \`WIKI_DELETE\` permission. **Note:** Deleting a wiki page is an irreversible operation. Deleting specific versions or even complete pages can make sense to remove spam or other abusive submissions. However, if you want to delete a page because you re-created a new page with the same content but a different name, it is recommended to keep the page and use it as a redirection page instead of completely deleting it. This will avoid frustrating the visitor with broken links, particularly when coming to the site from a search engine. In this situation, chances are that you actually wanted to *[WikiNewPage#renaming|rename]* the page instead of doing a copy and delete. The //Rename// operation offers you the possibility to create a redirection page. A redirection page is a short page that contains a link such as “See SomeOtherPage”. --- See also: [TracWiki](/notes/TracWiki/), [TracPermissions](/notes/TracPermissions/)